Batman Eternal, American Vamp, and the New Old-Fashioned

Holy expendable income, Batman! I’ve bought a lot of comics lately. From left to right:

Scott Snyder has revived his American Vampire series, and based on the strength of his writing for Batman I’ve decided to give it a go. I’m three issues into the original run of 34 (#1-5 featuring Stephen King as co-writer) and it’s pretty killer so far. Smart, fresh, and definitely not your granddaddy’s (nor your teenage sister’s) vampire story.

Issues 1-3 of the Batman Eternal series, which just started this month and, if Batman #28’s preview was any indication, seems pretty promising. (Can you tell I dig Scott Snyder?) Got these on a recent outing with the other CnC dudes to The Source Comics and Games.

The three latest additions to Andrew’s Batman Comics CanonJLA: Crisis of ConscienceInfinite Crisis and Batman: Battle for the Cowl.

And just for kicks, here’s what I’m drinking to warm myself up after a day chainsawing in the cold, rainy, miserable Minnesota spring thus far:

Maple-Orange Old-Fashioned

2oz Knob Creek Kentucky straight bourbon

1tsp Grade A maple syrup

Fee Brothers orange bitters

Combine all in a pint glass with ice, stir; strain over large ice cube into a rocks glass.

I loooove maple and orange together (especially orange zest on French toast or in pancake batter). You can also fix this sucker with Knob Creek’s Smoked Maple bourbon and just use simple syrup instead of maple. Garnish with an orange wheel if you’ve got one on hand.

2 thoughts on “Batman Eternal, American Vamp, and the New Old-Fashioned”

  1. This sounds delicious. I gotta get me some real maple syrup and try it! In the meantime I’m mixing old-Old-Fashioneds with rye and Angostura bitters. Have you tried this recipie with the orange, bitters, and syrup muddled first?

    1. I have, but only with a brandy Old-Fashioned — it’s a bit sweeter with the fresh fruit and brandy instead of rye/bourbon, so it depends on your mood. Brandy Old-Fashioneds are a big deal in Lindsay’s family, so we drink them frequently, but I think I like the original style better. (I think because I like bourbon so much.)

Leave a Reply

